1 This section deals with food items and other products which may be used on Pesach. Pesach is a time when even the most remote possibility of a questionable ingredient should be avoided and customarily Pesach is a time to be scrict. Therefore it is customary, where possible to buy only products fully certified as Kosher for Pesach.

2 Due to the many additives and the sophisticated production techniques used in today’s food industry, any processed food item, no matter how simple, may be problematic for Pesach and should not be used unless there is at least some kashrut investigation or supervision has taken place. Indeed some products may require full kosher supervision in order to be acceptable for Pesach. 

3 There are three general categories of Kosher for Pesach products:
a. Products that are universally or inherently produced chametz free. These do not have specific certification but may be used. These will be called in the guide ‘category 1’ or (1). It should be noted that while these products are indeed chametz free many people have the custom of only buying products specifically investigated and certified.
b. The second category are products that are not always produced chametz free but in this case have been investigated and found to be chametz free - though they are not formally certified. These will be called category 2 or (2). Again many people have the custom of only buying formally certified products for Pesach.
c. The third category are products that have been specifically produced with kosher for pesach formal certification. These will be called category 3 or (3)

We will throughout the booklet identify into which category listed products belong.

3 There is a wide range of local and imported products which are produced under rabbinic supervision from other communities. The Kashrut Authority neither investigates nor necessarily endorses any such products. Only items with a “Kosher for Pesach” sign which also bears the name or symbol of the supervising authority printed on the package or tin should be used as proof of acceptability for Pesach. It is the customer’s responsibility to ensure that all articles purchased are indeed properly endorsed by a reliable authority. One should not rely on the shopkeepers however well intentioned they may be. Similarly Pesach sections in Supermarkets such as Coles or Woolworths etc may have chametz items inadvertantly placed in them. “Buyers should always Beware”

4. Some rabbinic authorities rely on leniencies not universally accepted in regard to Shemittah and other areas of halachah. 

5. Ashkenazim customarily do not eat Kitniyot during Pesach due to its similarity to Chametz. This includes rice, corn, legumes - beans, peas and (according to our custom) peanuts. Ashkenazim must therefore carefully read all food labels even with supervised products to ensure that the product does not contain Kitniyot and are not kosher certified just for sephardim. 

The Kashrut Authority wishes to emphasise that the custom practiced by many Sephardim not to prohibit kitniyot does not represent any leniency in relation to Pesach observance for Sephardim. Sephardim should be and are as meticulous as Ashkenazim in Pesach observance and in all other areas the KA treats Sephardim and Ashkenazim equally. There is one Torah for us all. 

The Kashrut Authority recommends the Pesach supervision of the overseas rabbinic bodies as listed on page ii and their products are used at all Kashrut Authority establishments. Regarding other rabbinic endorsements please check with The Kashrut Authority.

6. The Kashrut Authority has supervised production of a number of Passover items and they are so identified. Supervised products bear the KA Kosher L’Pesach seal. 

7 Matzah and matzah-meal are produced by many firms for year- round use and are not always kosher for Pesach. Please ensure that any matzah products used for Pesach bear a reliable rabbinic “Kosher for Pesach” endorsement, without which they must not be used on Pesach.


< Prev